When Calls the Heart: Year Five (The Television Movie Collection)

Did you know that recently the complete fifth season of one of television’s most romantic and family friendly dramas,When Calls the Heart: Year Five (The Television Movie Collection), was released this Fall? This season offers all six movies from the show’s fifth season, alongside an exclusive devotional book by Brian Bird and Michelle Cox entitled When God Calls the Heart.

I love that I can have this playing on my DVD or computer at home and I don’t have to worry that something not appropriate for children may show up. My two oldest children will often sit and watch this with me. They like me are drawn into the captivating story-line, the likable characters, and the adventure that ensues in Hope Valley! 

This collection picks up after year 4. I encourage if having never seen the series before to go back and watch them all. This collection is perfect for fans and would make a wonderful gift for the holiday season and approaching New Year to enjoy.  

Movie List:

  • The Heart of Homecoming
  • Hearts and Minds
  • Home is Where the Heart Is
  • My Heart is Yours
  • Weather the Storm
  • Close to my Heart

This season is just as good as the rest and I am on edge waiting for season 6 now. It’s great to have the DVD collection on hand because when I am done we can lend it to friends and family to enjoy and watch it all over again! 

The run time of this collection is 8.5 hours in total. Each DVD is 84 minutes long. There’s a special feature that takes a look of the cast and crew panels from the Hearties Family Reunion.

About the Devotional

Inspired by best-selling author Janette Oke and the Hallmark Channel original TV series When Calls the Heart, these forty devotions from Hope Valley are about finding moments of grace, joy, and beauty amid the unexpected circumstances of life.

In this collection, Brian Bird, executive producer and co-creator of When Calls the Heart, and Michelle Cox illuminate the “God-moments” from the fictional, 1910 mining town of Hope Valley. The stories of faith, hope, and love from each episode will inspire and encourage you with wonderful virtues and relatable life lessons.

Each chapter contains a quote from one of your favorite citizens, a Scripture verse, a devotional reflection, a prayer, and questions to help you think a little deeper about what’s on your own heart.

As Elizabeth Thatcher learned when she headed West to fulfill her dream of becoming a teacher, when God calls the heart, you can expect an adventure!

My Thoughts: I love the simplicity of this devotional. The devotional stories  tie straight into and from the characters found in Hope Valley, however if never seeing the show I feel someone can reap from this book. 

There are forty devotionals in this book so it’ll last you a little over a month. The devotional format starts with a title,  Bible verse, character quote, the daily devotional reading, a prayer to pray, and a few question to answer about whatever was read. 

I felt the devotionals were applicable to today and that the topics spot on in addressing things like jealousy, fear, friendship, and so on. 

Overall, it’s a nice addition to the series and worth getting your hands on if you are fan of the book or tv series. 

Disclosure: I was not financially compensated for this post. I received a free sample or a discount to purchase the product for review  purposes. The opinions are my own or my immediate family members, based on our personal experience with the product.