The Piano Guys “Uncharted” {Review + Tour Dates}


With over a billion YouTube views of their more than 50 music videos, The Piano Guys announce the release of their new album Uncharted. This album includes the upbeat new song “Okay” written by hit-makers Andy Grammer and Dave Bassett. The “Okay” music video is on YouTube now – check it out here

Uncharted literally charts new territory for The Piano Guys. Continuing their “Wonders of the World” quest, they’ve shot three of their recent hit videos far afield – Scotland, Mexico, Jordan – while “Okay” shows them in the recording studio where they create their inspirational music, and in front of a cheering crowd of 20,000 at the USANA Amphitheatre in their home state of Utah.

Uncharted features all their recent hits, including “Fight Song/Amazing Grace” (video filmed in Scotland), “A Sky Full of Stars,” “Hello/Lacrimosa,” “Jungle Book/Sarabande” (video shot in Chichén Itzá, Mexico), and “Indiana Jones and the Arabian Nights” (video filmed in Petra, Jordan), all available for the first time on CD. The Deluxe Edition includes a DVD featuring all of those recent hit music videos.

The Piano Guys weave their magic from a cornucopia of musical sources. Fusing pop hits from the likes of Justin Timberlake, Adele, Coldplay and Rachel Platten with Hollywood scores from legendary masters like John Williams and Hans Zimmer; timeless classical pieces from Mozart, Händel and Rimsky-Korsakov; and their own original compositions, emerging with a tapestry of inventive, inspiring songs with multigenerational appeal.

“We’ve now ventured deeper into “uncharted” territory than we could have ever dreamed of traversing,” says Steven Sharp Nelson, the group’s cellist, explaining both the album’s title and the band’s ongoing fan-fueled journey. It’s not just the far-flung video locations; the music itself isn’t limited to any one genre or chart. “We hope it transcends conventional classification and instead reaches beyond boundaries, finding audiences from all walks of life that want positive content and fresh takes on old and new music,” Nelson says. “Also, it’s actually very difficult to accurately ‘chart’ our music into sheet music since it features so many unprecedented and untranscribable sounds. Combine all of these elements with more of our signature fusion of film score, classical music, pop and original music, our first vocal single, and even more groundbreaking textures and sounds, we believe this to be our best record yet. We can’t wait for people to hear it!”

The Piano Guys – Steven Sharp Nelson, Jon Schmidt, Al Van der Beek and Paul Anderson – became an online sensation by way of their immensely successful series of strikingly original self-made music videos, which recently surpassed 1 billion views and garnered over 5 million subscribers on YouTube. The band has played sold-out concerts around the world, accrued a massive social media following, topped the Billboard charts, and made over 50 music videos since 2011, including their breakout hit, an innovative multi-handed version of One Direction’s “What Makes You Beautiful,” and a gorgeous reinvention of the hit song “Let It Go” from Disney’s Frozen. Uncharted is the four Utah dads’ sixth major label album on Portrait/Sony Music Masterworks. It follows Wonders, The Piano Guys, The Piano Guys 2, a holiday album called A Family Christmas, and most recently The Piano Guys – Live!  -featuring live music from their sold out Red Rocks and Carnegie Hall concerts. Uncharted is available physically and digitally right now!


My Thoughts…

This a great new album from the Piano Guys. My whole family really enjoys when we have their music playing when at home or on the go. We’ve been following Piano Guys for many years through Youtube and are excited about all upcoming projects that the group will be releasing. This is our fifth own album and it’s certainly up there with our favorites from the Piano Guys.

There are 12 songs on the album making up 46 minutes of runtime.  My favorite tracks are the Themes from the Pirates of the Caribbean, Indian Jones, and A Sky Full of Stars. It’s great background music to play during my day at home with my children. I like to put it on when playing games with the family, when I’m cleaning the home, or doing school.

Even though we have our favorites, all the tracks are done exceptionally well and each quite memorable. They’ve managed to put together a soothing yet upbeat and moving albums of songs that don’t trump but clearly resides as an equal to all their previous albums.

1. Fight Song / Amazing Grace
2. A Sky Full of Stars
3. Hello / Lacrimosa
4. (It’s Gonna Be) Okay
5. Themes from Pirates of the Caribbean
6. Celloopa
7. The Jungle Book / Sarabande
8. Holding On
9. Can’t Stop the Feeling
10. Tour de France
11. Uncharted
12. Indiana Jones and the Arabian Nights

I would highly recommend this album! If you haven’t seen their videos on their  YouTube channel, I encourage you to do so! The videos are simply stunning, uplifting, and inspirational.

For more information on The Piano Guys and tour dates visit:







Order their new album Uncharted here:

iTunes –

Amazon –

Google Play –


Listen to tracks from the new album Uncharted here:

Spotify –

Apple Music –




Nov. 30                        Westminster College              New Wilmington, PA               Tickets

Dec. 1                          PPAC                                        Providence, RI                         Tickets

Dec. 2                          Kupferberg CPA                      Queens, NY                             Tickets

Dec. 3                          Shea’s PAC                              Buffalo, NY                              Tickets

Dec. 6                          DPAC                                       Durham, NC                            Tickets

Dec. 7                          Lyric Opera                             Baltimore, MD                        Tickets

Dec. 8                          State Theatre                          Easton, Pa                               Tickets

Dec. 9                          Newark Prudential Hall          Newark, NJ                              Tickets

Dec. 10                        Hershey PAC (Matinee)          Hershey, PA                             Tickets

Dec. 10                        Hershey PAC   (Evening)         Hershey, PA                             Tickets

Feb. 15                        Broward Center                      Fort Lauderdale, FL                 Tickets

Feb. 16                        Phillips Center                         Orlando, FL                             Tickets

Feb. 17                        Florida Theatre                       Jacksonville, FL                        Tickets

Feb. 18                        Ruth Eckerd Hall                     Clearwater, FL                        Tickets

Feb. 21                        Thomas Wolfe Auditorium     Asheville, NC                           Tickets Soon

Feb. 22                        Ovens Auditorium                   Charlotte, NC                          Tickets Soon

Feb. 23                        Chrysler Hall                           Norfolk, VA                              Tickets

Feb. 24                        Carpenter Theatre                  Richmond, VA                         Tickets

Feb. 25                        Gaillard Center                       Charleston, SC                         Tickets Soon

Disclaimer: I was sent a copy of this album to review. This review is 100% my opinion and has not been edited or reviewed by anyone. I was not compensated in any other way for this product review.